Hey guys it’s Sam, and remember when you used to be a kid, or at least a baby? Maybe that time is now, and if it is, I have to ask you, “What was your favorite children’s hero?” I mean, the kids show you grew up with and knew and loved. My personal fave is Franklin the turtle, who got his own show adapted from his book series on Noggin. (that’s what they called Nick Jr. back in the day)

I cherished this lean, green, tot-lovable machine ever since I was probably five or six. And after watching a couple reruns last Thursday night (ha! Take that, Katy Perry), I wanted to talk about it here on Sammwak. Some other kids’ shows I knew were The Upside Down Show, Dora, Blue’s Clues, The Backyardigans, Wow Wow Wubbzy!, Yo Gabba Gabba, you name it, I’ve probably seen it. But Franklin is probably the top of them all.

Kids’ shows were usually how tots got along, whether they were being taught to count (Dora, Team Umizoomi) while also embarking on an adventure, or experiencing misadventures as lessons in life. (Franklin, Wow Wow Wubbzy!) Children’s shows were basically children; you had to keep track of them, you loved them with all your heart.

Apparently, my sister had other ideas of cherished children’s shows.

Yep, as a kid, Little Bear was my sister’s hero (created by Maurice Sendak, author of Where the Wild Things Are). And I admit it, I did grow up with him too, just a tad bit. Now it’s for you to beat feet and spill the beans. Who’s your favorite kids show hero?

Well anyway, that’s all the beans to spill today on Sammwak! Check back for more beans, especially when they get the bake, the fry, or the black eye!

- Sam

