Hey guys it’s Sam and I really like this comic. I haven’t been with it in months. Let me tell you about it. It’s called Speed Bump and it’s a single-panel comic strip by this guy named Dave Coverly, who grew up in Plainwell. He was a graduate of Eastern Michigan University, and took a year off to be an art director. Speed Bump now runs more than 90 papers, including the one my family reads every day, The Kalamazoo Gazette. Here’s a picture of him:

But there’s this thing about that comic. I’m always supposed to “get it.” Like, get the punchline the comic is trying to hoist in its panel. I get some strips, but few. If I’m too lazy to read the paper, I can always keep an eye on it online at Comics.com, as well as other comics, some that even appear in my paper. Now, here is one example comic, but here’s the task: You must “get it.”

This is the funniest strip I’ve seen. But still, Dave must’ve been drawing for years, because I can’t get close to that level in drawing, even if it’s in a how-to-draw book. I simply have been drawing for…3 years? I need more experience. Thankfully, my sister could be booking me for art classes for summer 2011. But let’s get back to the topic. Some comics don’t feature speech bubbles at all, and it’s the picture that makes you rofl. Here’s an example:

It has a funny touch to it, and is a great influence on the Chicken Soup for the Soul series. Coverly describes this strip, “If life were a movie, these would be the outtakes.” These “outtakes” are featured in more than 400 papers including the Washington Post. How honoring would it be if your strip was in such a newspaper. It has also won the National Cartoonists Society Newspaper Panel Cartoon Award for both 1994 and 2002, and was also nominated in 2000. This year, Dave’s work got him the NCS Reuben Award. This strip, believe it or not, has actually evolved into books: Speed Bump, Speed Bump: Cartoons for Idea People, and Just One %$#@ Speed Bump After Another…More Cartoons.

Some comics actually have little icons like ‘@#$%’ to cover up that the person is swearing. Here’s an example using this “profanity concealing”:

Also, if you’re ROTFL from those last two comics, here are some more to satisfy your comic-hungry needs:

Dave and Chris Coverly now lives in Ann Arbor, with children Alayna and Simone.

I hope you’ve learned more. If u hazn’t, you can leave right now.

L8trs, Sam

