Hello there, viewers. It’s me, Sam. And it’s time to take a look and reminisce back in time. Go back to the 1990s, where Street Fighter II changed the face of fighting forever, Mario Kart 64 made a slam-bang drift into our hearts, and that good Crash Bandicoot arrived. But in the 1990s, there was also another time. The time where TV ratings got so low, that a bunch of animated cartoons started swallowing airing times. Some people call it the “invasion of the animation.” Others the “cartoon boom.” I call it “Nickelodeon in the 90s.”

Nick, as we all know it is today, is the top cable channel since April 1979, not to be confused with its launch on December 1977 as “Pinwheel.” It was also literally the first channel aiming at kids, dating back to Pinwheel days. But Nickelodeon really did have lots of cartoons in the 90s. I even have a good list of them: Angry Beavers, Hey Arnold!, and even Rugrats. But one show really stood out that I enjoy today. Yes, it was animated. It was hilarious, life-oriented, and a total fit-in with my comic writing. That show was called…

Doug. Not much afterward, just Doug. If you’ve ever heard of this post a little or a lot, please like this post at the bottom.

Doug was one of Nick’s many TV series involved in the cartoon boom. Running from 1991 to 1994, then getting picked up by Disney from 1996 to 1999 (ending actually after SpongeBob began), the show was based on its titular protagonist, Doug–I dare you to try not to laugh or grin–Funnie. A grade-schooler from Bloatsburg into Bluffington, the show follows the exploits of Doug and his misadventures on and off school. How this ties into my comic writing is that Doug is an actual comic-maker himself. His comic characters are superhero Quailman, secret agent Smash Adams,  explorer Race Canyon, crime-stopper the Chameleon, cowboy Durango Doug, outlaw Jack Bandit, and Wafflestomper.

One thing I liked about it was its short but sweet and epic theme song, composed by genius Fred Newman. I think it was the theme that got me hooked in the first place. I mean, come on, dude. How can you stare ahead and ignore a theme song like THIS?

It’s just impossible.

Well, I guess that’s all for now. Check out YouTube for more Doug!

– Sam

