Hey guys it’s Sam. Remember how last year, I gave you all the deets on the 2010 Haverhill Book Fair? Well, now I’m gonna give you more deets on the 2011 Moorsbridge Book Fair! This seems more epic than usual, with horrifying celebrity books, overpriced children’s picture books, you name it! Even the brand-new upcoming sixth Wimpy Kid is involved! (as always. You see, it’s literally a book fair tradition to include the latest upcoming Wimpy Kid) And from the 14th to the 18th of this month, you can splurge your money into all kinds of goods! This year’s fair theme is an intergalactic style, stating that “Reading Is Out of This World!” Hey, at least it’s better than one book fair’s motto: “Reading Can Make You A Star!”

This fair still has all the other traditions: books labeled with RC (Reading Counts) or AR (Accelerated Reader) labels, specific places to find them, even the expensive prices! I’ll show you some interesting examples.

I Survived the Bombing of Pearl Harbor, 1941 by Lauren Tarshis ($4.99)

First, the famed surprise military attack bombarded the Pearl Harbor just as 1941 was nearing an end. Then the Pearl Harbor movie bombed cinemas a solid sixty years later in May 2001. Now this? This follow-up to installments like I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic (actually mentioned last book fair post) and I Survived the Shark Attacks, this book is about 11-year old Danny Crane fighting for a route home in the action of bombs, smoke, and demolition when World War 2 officially attacks the United States? Will this young boy find a way home, or is he gonna go shaka-laka…boom? (Numbered #328914, with a LEX of 620L. Find it in the B1 Historical Fiction section.)

Will this book be on my list?: No way! I don’t like historical fiction books anyway, and the last time I read one [with my class], I vowed that I’d never read another historical fiction-related book ever again…

How I Survived Middle School by Donna Gephart ($5.99, other places $6.99)

Don’t be fooled by the cover and actually click on this “video”, because you won’t get anything close to it. This book is about yet another 11-year old whose name starts with D, but this boy isn’t fighting for his life through bombs and destruction. He’s fighting for a way to survive middle school with a dream of becoming a TV personality. With a little hand–or paw, I guess–from his pet hamster, David creates a series of videos called Talk Time which he uploads onto YouTube. Is this little boy ready to be a big star? Or will the chances shrink as small as his hamster? (Labeled under RC and AR, numbered #329813, with a LEX of 660L. Find it in the G1 Advanced Readers section.)

Will this book be on my list?: It’s an official yes, because it’s cheap, it seems funny, and I really like these real-life-reflecting kind of books of fame attempt. In other words, it seems legit.

Bad Kitty Meets the Baby by Nick Bruel ($4.99)

“This time Kitty’s met her match…”…or has she? In the latest and fifth installment in this clawed canine rival’s series, Kitty isn’t in for much of a treat when her owners come home with…you guessed it…a baby. Will Kitty use her naughty skill to prevail? Or has Kitty met her babbling, crawling match? (Numbered #329603, with a LEX of 720L. Find it in the Y2 Chapter Books section.)

Will this book be on my list?: Sadly, it won’t be, because it doesn’t seem like a very good book.

Thea Stilton and the Star Castaways by “Thea Stilton” ($7.99)

If you’ve already read my other Jolly Good Bookie posts, plus the ones on 2Sam2Mwak, you already know my passion for Thea and her books. So you wouldn’t believe my excitement when I saw this book in the flyer. The Sisters have battled through earth, wind, and fire (literally) but have they battled through space? Because this time, they’re having an adventure off their own planet to the Moon. But when they arrive at their lunar destination, they stumble upon spaceship wrecks, rebellious robotic beings, and more! Can these feisty five save the day, or is Apollo 18 not the only reason to stay off the Moon? (Labeled under AR, numbered #329904, with a LEX of 780L. Look for it on the Bestsellers Table.)

Will this book be on my list?: I’m on the fence about it, because I can just get it from the library after the book fair, but then again, it is Thea this book was “written by.” So I’m very skeptical about it.

Big Nate On a Roll by Lincoln Peirce ($7.99, exclusive paperback)

I’ve already expressed my anger towards Lincoln and his series in my Big Nate Strikes Again page flip, reviewing one of the worst books ever made. It’s sitting in my bookshelf right now, glaring at me. I want to glare back, but I have to tell you about their third and final shot at impressing me. Nate’s always sick of being in 2nd place compared to Mr. Perfect, also known as Artur. So when Artur joins Nate’s scout troop, poor Nate gets bumped down a spot like usual. From chess to relationships with Nate’s crush Jenny, Artur always wins. But can this Ben Franklin of the modern times (read Strikes Again to learn what I’m talking about. On second thought, you wouldn’t want to!) come back with a vengeance? And as always, funny drawings and comics emblazon every page. (Numbered as #329292. Look for it in the R1 Humor section.)

Will this book be on my list?: I’m thinking about it, because I do need to see if Lincoln has finally learned to impress me, but I’m afraid that it’ll be terrible and I just wasted 8 dollars. For now, I’m on the fence.

Ripley’s Believe It Or Not! Special Edition 2012 by…well, lots of people. ($12.99, other places $16.99. Thank God.)

If you remember my last book fair juicy detail post, I got some covered footage of the Special Edition 2011 version of Believe It Or Not! Well, I’ve decided to continue my “traditions” by giving some detail on 2012’s special edition! Prepare to be amazed by the most absurd facts, acts, and oddities ever reported! As Ripley said, and as I’ll say again, there’s nothing—NOTHING—stranger than the truth! (Numbered as #329564. Look for it on the Reference Table.)

Will this book be on my list?: I’ll have to pass this experience, because after seeing the 2011 special edition, I seriously don’t need to be disgusted 2 years in a row. And besides, since when was I interested in Ripley’s?

Darth Paper Strikes Back: An Origami Yoda Book by Tom Angleberger ($5.99)

First, green and brown paper combined into a thorough series of folding to make Origami Yoda. Now, black and red paper have combined into a thorough series of folding to make Darth Paper. 53% of people actually believed that the “Yoda sequel” was actually going to be revolved around Darth anyways, so they got their wish. This book is about Harvey’s success in getting Dwight suspended. But as O. Yoda pleads to rescue him, Harvey and his accomplice “Darth Paper” plan evilly to make Dwight’s suspension permanent! Will their plans go through? (Numbered as #329944. Look for it in the B1 Mystery section.)

Will this book be on my list?: No. Why? I’ve never been interested in Star Wars, let alone Star Wars parodies, and after the negative advice one of my super best friends gave me, I’m afraid it won’t be worth the splurge of cash.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Cabin Fever by Jeff Kinney ($8.49, exclusive paperback)

I already covered this book in August, but I guess I’ll cover it again: the Heffleys are finally getting a blanket of snow for the winter. But the sky spirits must think big, because they brought a blanket so big, the Surrey Street family gets snowed in! Can Greg survive being stuck inside with family? Or is he going to go stir crazy? (Numbered as #331658. On sale November 15, day 2 of the Book Fair. Look for it in the R1 Humor section.)

Will this book be on my list?: Heck yeah! Whenever a new Wimpy Kid makes for the fair in its debut, I’m always riding its cattails for it.

SpongeBob SquarePants: Attack of the Zombies! by an anonymous writer ($3.99)

Zombies have been very famous in horror media, starting off way back in 1968 when Night of the Living Dead staggered into cinemas as an independent black-and-white cult movie. Just the phrase of the Dead has been included in several movie titles, like Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, and even Diary of the Dead. But for the first time in porous undersea history, Nickelodeon’s spongy hero and his starfish friend are pitting themselves against “the dead!” Just like in one of the show’s episodes, Gary’s the one that starts the rave when he suddenly begins biting every Bikini Bottomite in town. The snail bite panic spreads, ending up in zombie-like behavior from everyone, and then Gary and his zombified brethren start an underwater manhunt. Can SpongeBob and Patrick escape the infection? Or will they really be left for dead? (Numbered as #328596, with an LEX of 410L. Look for it in the Y2 Easy Readers section.)

Will this book be on my list?: I love the little guy so deeply, but then again, I’m not 6.

Fly Guy vs. the Flyswatter by Tedd Arnold ($5.99 here, other places $6.99, hardcover)

Fly Guy used to be one of my children’s book hypes, and now that he’s gotten a second mentioning (last time was for his collaboration with Buzz Boy) he better be lucky. Warning: The puns you are about to hear are very insect-related, and unbeelievably bad. You’ve been warned.

It’s bad newzz when Fly Guy picks the wrong day to visit Buzzzzz’s school and participates in a field trip with him. But the destination they’re headed to is unbeelievably horrific: the flyswatter factory! Will he escape the Super Swatter and return with his 2 wings? Or is this fly doomed to be roadkill? (Numbered as #328943 with a LEX of 430L. Look for it in the Y2 Easy Readers section.)

Will this book be on my list?: Fly Guy’s a cute little pest, but his books are usually around 18 pages long, and besides, this installment in Fly’s adventures doesn’t seem as much of a buzz. I warned you about those insect puns! (*please insert rimshot*)

…………………………………………

So that’s some pretty good biz to get hyped up for. Sneak a peek by Moorsbridge Elementary School on November 14-18 from 8 am to 4 pm each day in the Community/Spanish Room across from the gym to get your share of books out of this world! And also check by Sammwak and 2Sam2Mwak (7 hits? Dude, come on) for more epic junk and stuff. This is Sam, sssssssigning out. See, I warned you about those bad insect puns.

With all due respect,

Sam

p.s. Want some more entertaining peeks? Here are a couple more to get you going:

  • Everyone’s afraid of something. If you are, try reading The School of Fear #2: Class Is Not Dismissed by Gitty Daneshvari, the second novel in the frightful foursome’s series. Labeled under RC and AR, available at the B1 Adventure section for $5.99.
  • Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark too creepy for you? Try Attack of the Vampire Weenies and Other Warped and Creepy Tales by David Lubar, a continuing installment of his series of warped and creepy tales. Available at the B1 Fantasy section for $5.99 as an exclusive paperback. If you don’t want to stop there, try other installments like The Battle of the Red Hot Pepper Weenies and The Curse of the Campfire Weenies.
  • For some reason, book fairs always include books about rising new celebs, and this year, they’re packed with Willow Smith: Pop’s Newest Princess, and Big Time Rush: Big Time Audition. Both go for $3.99, and they’re both available at the Y2 Easy Readers section.
  • Whoever wants to spend Christmas with the baddest kitty of them all, raise your hand. ****** Well you got your wish, because A Bad Kitty Christmas is one of the included books. If you want to learn the true meaning of Christmas with the world’s most naughty kitty, just pay $15.99 under a hardcover, and scope for it at the Holiday Table.
  • If Big Nate copied off of Wimpy Kid, surely someone can copy off of Big Nate. What’s that? There is someone? Sweet! Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life is available for $15.99 (hardcover) at the S1 New Releases section.
  • Guys, cover your ears and open a new tab instantly. If you want to hear about some girly new books coming out, here they are: they include, but aren’t limited to, Monster High: The Ghoul Next Door ($8.99 at the GL Books & Stuff section), Pinkalicious: Pinkie Promise ($3.99 at the Easy Readers section), you know what I mean.
