Hey guys it’s Sam, and to help kick off the new year the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys (hey, they said it, not me) prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog. It really warmed my heart seeing all the people from around the world that got to see Sammwak, and the compliments it gave me concerning my views that are (matter of fact) way better than that Humanize widget. When we started off the year, I had approximately 40,000 or so views. Now going into 2013, we’re at nearly 100,000 hits!!! I just want to say thank you for all the time you’ve spent reading my posts, liking them, sending humorous or heartfelt or rather solemn comments my way, and coming back next time for more awesomeness courtesy of…you know. I remember back in 2010 when I first founded this blog, when I was putting up awkward recommendations and over-the-top rants without really knowing what I was doing and who would see them. Now, I’ve grown as both a person and a writer, keeping things more organized and trademark as of randomly letting the cat out of the bag. Now twelve of you people watching and reading this have loved my work enough to become official subscribers to Sammwak, and although it may not be a lot to you, to me it seems like half a million subs. Again, I want to say thank you for the blast I had this year, and wait till you see what laughs, reviews, recommendations, and news I have simmering in the griddle to serve in 2013!

Here’s a heartwarming excerpt of my WordPress summary:

4,329 films were submitted to the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 43,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 10 Film Festivals.

Click here to see the complete report, and make sure to come back next time for more awesomeness courtesy of Sammwak!

Videos of the New Year: Google+ has gotten me in touch with tons of new friends. One of those friends (whom’s identity I shan’t reveal) is one of the five owners of a G+ community dedicated to the web series Bravest Warriors. (I’ll explain that more in a few minutes.) At first I was skeptical, because I’d seen lots of Bravest Warriors videos at the top slot where only “featured videos” go, and thought it was just another overrated animated comedy series. But the same guy that enticed me towards that series also brought me to this mind-blowing video centric to one of Minecraft‘s greatest legends: Herobrine. Now, Herobrine is practically the Slender Man of the Minecraft world–they’re both Creepypasta myths, they put the “creepy” in “Creepypasta”, and tons of people have put up supposedly real sightings of them. But this video shows that Herobrine actually isn’t that bad of a guy, but when you add zombies, skeletons, spiders, and an Enderman into the mix, Herobrine actually shows that he is pretty heroic and rather boss for a Creepypasta myth. YouTube user dillongoo has made a mind-blowing fight scene that’s already gotten 2.7 million hits since last September. It is…”Gods Don’t Bleed”.

And as for Bravest Warriors, lemme explain that for you a bit more. Pendleton “Pen” Ward began his interest in animation at an early age drawing flipbooks throughout the first grade, and turned his passion for animation into his time at CalArts, plus the now-defunct webcomic Bueno the Bear. Pen then took his CalArts experience and his work as a storyboard artist on Flapjack and wove it into an animated short which debuted in 2007 and then again in 2008 as part of Random! Cartoons. That short became the unofficial pilot for what would go on to become one of the industry’s greatest and most notorious animated shows: Adventure Time.

Just last year, Pen took all that he had learned from Adventure Time from animation to absurdity and created a web series that was sheltered on a channel featuring cartoons “too weird, wild, and crazy for television.” The web series was obviously Bravest Warriors, and currently all  six episodes within the show’s first season that have been released have gained 4.5 million hits. Check out the Bravest Warriors series premiere, “Time Slime”, right here. If you’re hungry for more, check out the CartoonHangover channel. 

WARNING: Several censored middle fingers and the word “pissed” lie within this video. Watch with caution.

p.s. Did you know that while at CalArts, Pen Ward actually met and became close friends with JG Quintel? As a Flapjack storyboard artist Pen and JG had worked together, and JG went on to create his own famous animated show, Regular Show, which is both awkwardly and ironically Adventure Time‘s biggest competitor.

