Hey guys it’s Sam! Remember back in June when I made a post counting down the top ten greatest Nintendo 64 games in my book? Well, consider this to be a sequel. Instead of going forward in time, I’ve decided to go backward. It’s 1991. Pearl Jam and Nirvana are helping fuel the 1990s grunge scene. The World Wide Web and email have just popped up on the tech horizon. Terminator 2 was the film of the year. We said goodbye to rock legend Freddie Mercury. But most notably, the Sega Genesis was two years old. Eyes were glazing as kids watched the console’s commercials, boasting “turbo processing” that allowed Sonic-speed gameplay. The NES was a thing of the past–the 16-bit era was the thing of the present.

The Genesis had a two-year head start and was already structuring a fanbase. To combat this, Nintendo created the Super Nintendo Entertainment System and had it out in North America by the end of the summer. Thus started the big battle of the fourth generation of video games. Both offered backward compatibility and had an ample number of accessories. Despite the Genesis’ advantage and its lower price, the Super Nintendo outsold it by about 9.10 million units. I’m here to count down the top fifteen best SNES games in my book, and I have proof to back up my decisions thanks to the power of emulators. See if your favorites made the list.

waycool_snes_large

